Cost decisions · 5 min read
Compare introductory and regular pricing for home internet
Each charge on an internet bill can run on its own clock, and the headline price shows only one of them.
By Pablo Mendoza · Reviewed by George Olfson
Published · Updated
How we check availability · Editorial standards
Advertising disclosure: some links on this page lead to shopping pages, including pages on related sites such as Konecteaze, and we may earn a commission if you order. That never changes the facts or sources here. How we earn money
Compare introductory and regular pricing for major internet services over the months you expect to stay, not the headline rate alone. In our Sep 21, 2026 check of public offer pages, one headline rate lasted 2 months, one 12 and one 60, with the gateway on its own 12-month clock. Optimum has since changed that 60-month offer. Get each offer’s broadband label and add every line.
Compare introductory and regular pricing
When we read seven public offer pages on Sep 21, 2026, the headline rate periods were far apart. Some pages said when the headline ends; several said nothing about the price after that. The full sample is in our internet bill cost study.
| Offer sampled | Headline rate runs for | What the page said about later | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| EarthLink Fiber headline offer | 2 months, for new customers | A full-price plan follows. The page gave no amount. | Our Sep 21, 2026 audit |
| Spectrum Internet 500 | 12 months | No month-13 rate was named. | Our Sep 21, 2026 audit |
| Optimum Fiber 500 | A 60-month service price lock | After 60 months the price can rise each year, up to a stated cap. | Our Sep 21, 2026 audit |
| Optimum gateway | 12 months at no charge | Then it can rise each year, up to a stated cap. | Our Sep 21, 2026 audit |
Read the table as three clocks. The service clock says how long the headline lasts. The later-price clock says what comes next, and it is often blank. The equipment clock can run on its own schedule. Optimum’s service lock ran five years, yet its gateway was free for only the first year. For the EarthLink offer, Check plans at your address. For Spectrum, Check plans at your address. For Optimum, Check plans at your address.
Update, : Fetched Oct 28, 2026, EarthLink's fiber page did not show the 24 dollars and 95 cents two-month headline recorded on Sep 21. The page lists 100 Mbps, 300 Mbps, 1 Gig and 5 Gig plans and says rates stay consistent for 12 months, without a dollar amount for that rate in the text we received. A plain download of the same URL still returns HTTP 403, which is why the Sep 21 row was captured in a browser. That row stays the audit record.
Update, : Optimum has changed this offer again since the Oct 6 note. Fetched Oct 28, 2026, its fiber page shows a promotional 500 Mbps service rate of 25 dollars a month plus taxes and fees for 12 months, then an increase of no more than 15 dollars a month per year until standard rates. It calls that a 1-year price lock. Gateway terms on the same page are not a single figure: one block charges nothing for 12 months, and another charges 5 dollars a month for 12 months, after which either can rise by up to 5 dollars a month per year until standard rates. The Sep 21 row, 40 dollars for 60 months, stays the audit record. The Oct 6 description of a price lock of up to 3 years that required SecureWifi+ is no longer what the page states.
What the broadband label must show, and the 2026 revision
Every plan comes with a broadband label. The FCC says it must show prices, speeds, fees, data allowances, and bundle, discount and introductory-rate details. Large providers had to show the label at the point of sale from April 10, 2024. Providers with fewer than 100,000 subscribers followed on October 10, 2024.
The FCC revised the rules in an order adopted July 22, 2026 (FCC 26-48). It would let providers show a link or icon at checkout in place of the full label, and list variable passthrough fees as one “up to” amount. Those label changes are delayed with no date set. Only the order’s updated definitions took effect, on Sep 14, 2026. Read the full label either way, and check each fee on the first invoice.
Build a cost sheet that survives the promotion
Make one row per offer and give every row the same months. For each offer, write down:
- The service charge now, and the date it changes.
- The later service charge, or “not stated” if the page gives none.
- Equipment and Wi-Fi charges, and when each one starts.
- Installation, activation and any deposit.
- Each discount and what it requires.
- Taxes, fees and the cancellation rule for rented devices.
| Question | Offer A | Offer B |
|---|---|---|
| Address and install date confirmed? | Yes or no, with the date | Yes or no, with the date |
| Months 1 to 12, then 13 to 24 | Service plus required add-ons | Service plus required add-ons |
| One-time and exit costs | Install, equipment, cancellation | Install, equipment, cancellation |
| Hard requirement | Upload, data, latency or uptime | Upload, data, latency or uptime |
Keep a bundled mobile or TV saving out of the sheet unless you would keep that service anyway.
Conditions that change the price
Four of the seven displayed rates in the same Sep 21 audit depended on how you pay. Three of them show how far the rules differ:
- AT&T required AutoPay and paperless billing for its displayed Fiber 300 rate.
- Kinetic’s displayed Fiber 300 rate already included an AutoPay discount, which a buyer could turn off at the next step.
- Optimum’s discount depended on how you pay. A checking account earned the full discount, a debit card a smaller one, and a credit card none.
Update, : Fetched Oct 28, 2026, AT&T's fiber page shows two Internet 300 cards. The card limited to AutoPay and paperless billing, with no wireless requirement in the legal line, displays 50 dollars a month beside a 60 dollar comparison, after a 10 dollar monthly discount, plus taxes and fees, in limited areas. A second card still displays 35 dollars beside a 60 dollar comparison, and its legal line requires an eligible wireless service plus AutoPay and paperless billing. The Sep 21 row recorded 35 dollars after AutoPay and paperless billing and did not state a wireless requirement. That row stays the audit record.
Write each condition beside the price it produces. If you would rather pay by credit card, price the Optimum offer without the discount. If AutoPay fails one month, ask what that bill becomes. For the AT&T Fiber 300 terms, Order now. For Kinetic Fiber 300, Check plans at your address.
Test the answer against a shorter or longer stay
Run the total twice, once for the stay you expect and once for an early exit. A setup charge weighs heavily on a short stay. A low opening rate can lose over two years once the later rate starts.
Before you switch, rerun each total for three failures: the discount is denied, the installer cannot reach the unit, or a photo backup pushes one month past the data allowance.
Choose the constraint before the speed
A cheap plan is the wrong plan if its data runs out, its upload is too slow for work, or its install date is too late. Read how data allowances and overage work before you pick a capped plan. Paying for gigabit will not fix weak Wi-Fi in a bedroom either, so test the line and the Wi-Fi separately before you price an upgrade.
Some situations have their own worksheet:
- Internet price increase: find the line that changed first.
- You need a lower-cost plan: check Lifeline and size the speed.
- Basic prepaid internet service: price whole payment periods.
- You will stay only a few months: count the cost per usable day.
- You are replacing a provider: install and test before you cancel.
What to do next
Put two offers into the 12- and 24-month cost calculator. Leave a later price blank when the offer page does not state one: under our methodology, a missing price counts as unknown, never zero.
Common questions
How do I compare two internet offers fairly?
Compare two internet offers over the same time horizon, such as 12 or 24 months, and add every recurring and one-time charge, from service and equipment to installation and exit costs. Read each offer’s broadband label: the FCC says it must show prices, fees, data allowances and introductory-rate details. Leave an unstated later price blank.
What must an internet provider’s broadband label show?
An internet provider’s broadband label must show prices, speeds, fees, data allowances, and bundle, discount and introductory-rate details, according to the FCC. Larger providers had to show the label at the point of sale from April 10, 2024, and providers with fewer than 100,000 subscribers from October 10, 2024.
Did the broadband label rules change in 2026?
The FCC adopted revised broadband label rules in order FCC 26-48 on July 22, 2026, but only their updated definitions took effect, on Sep 14, 2026. The label changes, including a link or icon in place of the full label at checkout and one “up to” amount for variable passthrough fees, are delayed with no date set.
Is a price lock the same as a fixed bill?
A price lock does not always fix the whole bill. In our Sep 21, 2026 audit, Optimum’s 60-month service price lock did not cover its gateway, which was free for 12 months and could then rise each year, up to a stated cap. Optimum has changed that offer again. On Oct 28, 2026, its fiber page showed a promotional 500 Mbps rate for 12 months, called a 1-year price lock, and the gateway terms on that page were not a single figure. Price every line on the bill, including equipment and fees, not only the service.
Sources and scope
- FCC: Consumer broadband labels now required nationwide (news release) Checked What a broadband label must show, and the 2024 compliance dates.
- FCC: Empowering Broadband Consumers Through Transparency, Report and Order FCC 26-48 Checked Label rule changes adopted July 22, 2026.
- Federal Register: 91 FR 52251, FR Doc 2026-16503 Checked The definitions in FCC 26-48 took effect Sep 14, 2026. Its label changes, including the link-or-icon and up-to fee options, are delayed with no date set.
- InternetService.ai: internet bill cost study (public price-term audit) Checked Seven public offer pages read on Sep 21, 2026: rate periods, later-price wording, equipment and AutoPay terms.