Skip to content
InternetService.ai
Order now
Explore guides and tools

Seven-provider public-offer audit · September 21, 2026

The same monthly internet price can run on a different clock

The same monthly internet price can last two months, one year or five years. In our Sep 21, 2026 audit of seven public offer pages, EarthLink’s fiber headline ran two months, Spectrum’s Internet 500 rate one year, and Optimum’s Fiber 500 service rate 60 months, with its gateway on a separate 12-month clock.

We recorded one selected public offer example each from Spectrum, AT&T, Xfinity, EPB, Kinetic, EarthLink and Optimum. For each one we asked how long the headline number applies, what happens afterward, and which other charges or conditions run on their own timing.

This is a fixed snapshot of provider pages observed on . It includes no customer bills or address-qualified quotes. A term marked “not stated” means we did not establish it on the sampled public page, not that the provider lacks a term elsewhere.

Short introduction

EarthLink: first two months

In the September 21 snapshot, the $24.95 fiber headline is restricted to the first two months for new customers. The page’s separate 12-month stable-rate statement is not tied to this headline. The sampled page gives no full-price dollar amount or speed tier for the headline.

Year-one price

Spectrum: first year

The Internet 500 public card shows $40 per month for year one. We do not read its crossed-out price as the month-13 rate; the page does not say what that rate is.

Separate clocks

Optimum: service and gateway

The selected 500 Mbps service rate is stated for 60 months, while the gateway's $0 monthly period is 12 months and can change later under a separate cap.

Update, : Fetched Oct 28, 2026, EarthLink's fiber page did not show the 24 dollars and 95 cents two-month headline recorded on Sep 21. The page lists 100 Mbps, 300 Mbps, 1 Gig and 5 Gig plans and says rates stay consistent for 12 months, without a dollar amount for that rate in the text we received. A plain download of the same URL still returns HTTP 403, which is why the Sep 21 row was captured in a browser. That row stays the audit record.

Update, : Fetched Oct 28, 2026, AT&T's fiber page shows two Internet 300 cards. The card limited to AutoPay and paperless billing, with no wireless requirement in the legal line, displays 50 dollars a month beside a 60 dollar comparison, after a 10 dollar monthly discount, plus taxes and fees, in limited areas. A second card still displays 35 dollars beside a 60 dollar comparison, and its legal line requires an eligible wireless service plus AutoPay and paperless billing. The Sep 21 row recorded 35 dollars after AutoPay and paperless billing and did not state a wireless requirement. That row stays the audit record.

Update, : Optimum has changed this offer again since the Oct 6 note. Fetched Oct 28, 2026, its fiber page shows a promotional 500 Mbps service rate of 25 dollars a month plus taxes and fees for 12 months, then an increase of no more than 15 dollars a month per year until standard rates. It calls that a 1-year price lock. Gateway terms on the same page are not a single figure: one block charges nothing for 12 months, and another charges 5 dollars a month for 12 months, after which either can rise by up to 5 dollars a month per year until standard rates. The Sep 21 row, 40 dollars for 60 months, stays the audit record. The Oct 6 description of a price lock of up to 3 years that required SecureWifi+ is no longer what the page states.

What the sampled pages state about price timing

Each row is one offer or headline we picked, not a matched address or equivalent speed. EarthLink's $24.95 is a fiber headline rather than a price tied to a named speed tier in the sampled page. The table compares the structure of the terms, not which provider is cheaper.

Seven selected public offer prices, stated rate windows, and later-price disclosures as observed September 21, 2026
Selected exampleDisplayed rateStated rate windowWhat is known about the later price
SpectrumInternet 500, internet only$40/moFirst 12 monthsThe sampled page does not identify a contractual month-13 rate. A struck-through comparison price is not used as that rate.
AT&TFiber Internet 300$35/moDuration not stated on sampled pageThe observed $35 card does not state its duration or a contractual later price; the crossed-out $60 is not assumed to be the later bill.
XfinityNOW100 prepaid$30/moDuration not stated on sampled pageThe public offer page says pricing is subject to change; no multi-month price lock is stated.
EPBResidential 300 Mbps$57.99/moDuration not stated on sampled pageNo prospective price-lock duration for this rate is stated in the sampled price section; historical pricing claims are not a guarantee.
KineticFiber 300 Mbps$34.99/moDuration not stated on sampled pageA price period or later price is not stated for the sampled Fiber 300 card; price locks shown for other tiers are not attributed to this tier.
EarthLinkFiber headline offer (speed not tied to price on sampled page)$24.95/moFirst 2 monthsThe offer footnote says full-price plan follows the first two months but gives no dollar amount. Generic 12-month stable-rate copy elsewhere on the page does not establish that the $24.95 headline lasts 12 months.
Optimum500 Mbps Fiber Internet, internet only$40/mo60 months of base serviceAfter 60 months, the service price may rise by no more than $15/month per year until standard rates; exact later price is not stated.

Reproducible illustration

How two versus twelve introductory months change the math

This hypothetical, service-only example changes only the length of the introduction: $40/month during an introductory period and $70/month afterward. Neither pair of rates is attributed to a sampled provider. There are no taxes, equipment fees, credits or address conditions in this illustration.

Hypothetical service-rate calculations by introductory duration
Introductory period12 months, service only24 months, service only
Two-month introductory period$780$1,620
Twelve-month introductory period$480$1,320

Formula: min(intro months, horizon) × introductory rate + remaining months × later rate. Here the shorter promotion adds $300 to 12-month base service. The difference comes only from the ten months that move to the higher rate.

Apply the same method without inventing a later rate

EarthLink headline: Two stated introductory months at $24.95 yield $49.90 in base service. A 12-month service subtotal would be $49.90 + 10 × the later monthly rate. That later dollar amount is not established on the sampled page.

Spectrum Internet 500: Twelve stated months at $40 yield $480 in base service. A 24-month service subtotal would be $480 + 12 × the month-13 rate; the sampled page does not establish that rate.

Optimum Fiber 500: Within its stated service-rate term, 24 × $40 is $960 in base service if all stated discount conditions remain met. Its gateway has a different 12-month $0 period, and taxes and installation can differ, so $960 is not a 24-month bill.

The other fields a buyer has to check

Treat each “not stated” as a question for the provider's current broadband label or the checkout summary for your address.

How to read these cards

Each card lists what one sampled page said on September 21, 2026, under five headings. Open “Source notes” under a card to see where on the page each term appeared, with our paraphrase. The provider pages are cited as evidence of what was published that day. To see what reaches your own home, use the address check below the cards.

Spectrum: Internet 500, internet only

Spectrum service areas; public plan page, before address check

AutoPay or paperless condition
Not stated for the selected internet-only card on the sampled page.
Equipment and WiFi
Advanced WiFi is optional at $10/month for Internet 500 in the public comparison table.
Installation
A specific install or activation charge was not stated beside the selected card in the sampled page.
Address and eligibility
Page requests an address to show available local plans and terms.
Taxes and fees
Address-specific tax and other charge amounts were not stated beside the selected card.
Source notes
  • rate and period: Internet 500 is displayed at $40 monthly for the first year. (Internet-only comparison table, Year 1 row)
  • equipment: Advanced WiFi is an optional $10 monthly add-on on this tier. (Internet-only comparison table, WiFi row)
  • address: The provider asks for an address before showing local availability. (Let's get you connected section)

AT&T: Fiber Internet 300

New customers in select fiber markets; before address check

AutoPay or paperless condition
Eligible AutoPay and paperless billing discounts are required for the displayed rate.
Equipment and WiFi
All-Fi Pro is separately offered for $25/month plus tax; the selected card does not establish a required equipment charge.
Installation
The selected public card did not establish an address-specific install charge.
Address and eligibility
The page limits the offer to select areas and asks for an address before shopping.
Taxes and fees
The displayed $35 rate is explicitly plus taxes and fees, amounts not given on the card.
Source notes
  • rate and conditions: The page shows $35 monthly after eligible AutoPay and paperless discounts in select markets, plus tax and fees. (Internet 300 offer card)
  • equipment: An optional upgrade is displayed separately at $25 monthly plus tax. (All-Fi Pro option below Internet 300)

Xfinity: NOW100 prepaid

Serviceable addresses within the Xfinity footprint; account restrictions apply

AutoPay or paperless condition
The public offer page requires AutoPay and paperless billing with online card payment.
Equipment and WiFi
The NOW Internet gateway and unlimited data are included in the monthly rate.
Installation
Self-installation is required; professional installation is unavailable. Any one-time kit/delivery amount was not established in these sampled pages.
Address and eligibility
Support overview requires a serviceable address and excludes several existing Xfinity account configurations.
Taxes and fees
Monthly taxes and fees are stated to be included in the one monthly price.
Source notes
  • rate and inclusion: NOW100 is $30 monthly; the gateway, taxes, and monthly fees are included. (NOW Internet overview, plan and convenience lists)
  • price changes and autopay: The public offer requires AutoPay and paperless billing and warns that pricing may change. (NOW Internet offer-page restrictions footer)
  • eligibility and installation: A serviceable address and self-installation are required; existing-account restrictions apply. (NOW Internet overview, Eligibility and Equipment requirements)

EPB: Residential 300 Mbps

EPB service area around Chattanooga and Hamilton County, Tennessee

AutoPay or paperless condition
No AutoPay prerequisite was stated in the sampled price section.
Equipment and WiFi
Managed Smart Net Plus WiFi is optional at $17.99/month plus tax for the 300 Mbps tier; base router terms require address review.
Installation
The sampled page describes free professional installation; unusual address work was not checked.
Address and eligibility
Regional service area is stated; a service address must be checked for availability and final terms.
Taxes and fees
The sampled base-price section does not state an address-specific tax total; optional managed WiFi is plus tax.
Source notes
  • rate and region: EPB displays 300 Mbps at $57.99 monthly for its Chattanooga-area lineup. (Basic Internet speed card; July 1, 2026 EPB price announcement)
  • optional equipment: Managed WiFi is separately priced at $17.99 monthly for 300 Mbps, plus tax. (Smart Net Plus FAQ and July 1 announcement)
  • installation: The provider describes professional installation as free. (Fiber Fast feature list)

Kinetic: Fiber 300 Mbps

Select Kinetic fiber markets; exact address must be checked

AutoPay or paperless condition
Displayed rate includes a $5/month AutoPay discount that can be disabled at the next step.
Equipment and WiFi
Whole-home WiFi setup is described as included; a recurring router charge for this tier is not specified on the sampled page.
Installation
Page describes free professional fiber installation and whole-home setup.
Address and eligibility
Price is limited to select markets and availability depends on the exact address.
Taxes and fees
An address-specific tax/fee amount is not stated with the Fiber 300 card.
Source notes
  • rate and discount: Fiber 300 displays $34.99 monthly in select markets, including a $5 AutoPay discount. (Fiber 300 card and price-table footnote)
  • installation: Professional setup is described as included for fiber plans. (Kinetic Promise section and installation FAQ)
  • address: Kinetic says eligibility depends on the exact service address. (Fiber availability section)

EarthLink: Fiber headline offer (speed not tied to price on sampled page)

New customers in eligible fiber areas; plan and address must be confirmed

AutoPay or paperless condition
No AutoPay prerequisite is stated in the sampled offer footnote.
Equipment and WiFi
The footnote says modem-service charges may apply; amount and requirement are not established on this page.
Installation
The FAQ describes professional technician installation; a final installation charge is not stated there.
Address and eligibility
The page requires an address or phone check; the headline price is not tied to a specific speed tier in the visible offer.
Taxes and fees
The offer footnote says exclusions, taxes, or fees may apply; amounts are not stated.
Source notes
  • rate and period: The $24.95 headline applies to a new-customer first-two-month offer; full price follows. (Fiber hero and bottom asterisk footnote)
  • competing page language: The page separately discusses 12 months of stable rates, but does not tie that to the $24.95 teaser. (Transparent pricing feature and bottom asterisk footnote)
  • equipment and taxes: The page says modem charges, exclusions, taxes, or fees may apply. (Bottom asterisk footnote)
  • installation and address: A technician installs service after an address and plan are selected. (Fiber installation FAQ and address prompt)

Optimum: 500 Mbps Fiber Internet, internet only

New residential customers in eligible Optimum fiber areas; before address check

AutoPay or paperless condition
Displayed $40 includes $10/month AutoPay plus paperless billing discount via checking; debit gets $5 discount and credit card gets none.
Equipment and WiFi
Gateway is $0/month for 12 months, then may rise by up to $5/month per year; optional Whole Home WiFi is $5/month plus taxes and fees.
Installation
Free self-setup is offered where available; a professional install at standard rate may apply for online orders.
Address and eligibility
Offer is restricted to new eligible residential customers and is unavailable in some areas; address check required.
Taxes and fees
The advertised service price is plus taxes and fees; equipment or optional services may also carry taxes.
Source notes
  • rate and period: The selected service rate is $40 monthly for 60 months with eligible discounts, plus tax and fees. (500 Mbps card and its plan-specific Terms panel)
  • equipment: Gateway is $0 for 12 months, then has a capped annual increase; optional whole-home WiFi is separate. (500 Mbps Terms, Internet equip/taxes/fees paragraph)
  • discount and install: Checking AutoPay plus paperless billing produces the full discount; free self-setup does not guarantee free professional install. (500 Mbps Terms, renewal and install paragraphs)

Why the label rules matter for this audit

A public offer page is a summary. The broadband label is the fuller record, and the FCC requires it to show prices, speeds, fees, data allowances, and bundle, discount and introductory-rate details. Larger providers had to show it at the point of sale from April 10, 2024, and providers with fewer than 100,000 subscribers from October 10, 2024.

The FCC then revised the rules in an order adopted July 22, 2026 (FCC 26-48). Only its updated definitions took effect, on Sep 14, 2026; its label changes are delayed with no date set. One of those changes bears directly on this audit: once it takes effect, providers may show variable passthrough fees as an “up to” amount. These rules were checked on September 24, 2026; they are context for the September 21 snapshot, not part of it.

Price trend context

The consumer price index for internet services rose 1.5% from August 2025 to August 2026, against 3.4% for all items (BLS, not seasonally adjusted, checked September 24, 2026). The internet index stood at 87.5 in August 2026, on a base of 100 in December 1997.

The index is quality-adjusted and measures prices, not bills: it shows the market rose slowly, but it cannot tell one household what happens in month 13. That is why this audit records each offer's clock instead of an average price.

Collection and calculation method

  1. On September 21, 2026, we read one public provider page per selected example, without logging in. We used no address, account, form, order or paid API. Where the primary page needed clarification, we also checked a supporting provider page.
  2. For each example we recorded the source page, selected offer, displayed rate, scope, stated rate window, later-price disclosure, AutoPay condition, equipment, installation, address requirement and tax or fee statement. The downloadable CSV also notes where on the page each term appears, with a short paraphrase.
  3. Where an offer states a rate window, we multiplied the displayed base service price only within that window. A blank calculated value in the CSV means the page did not establish a rate for that horizon. No blank is converted to $0.
  4. The separate illustration above shows the effect of introductory duration. Its $40 and $70 inputs are hypothetical and are not substituted into any provider row.

We downloaded six of the sampled pages directly and recorded a SHA-256 fingerprint of each in the CSV. EarthLink's site blocked the automated request, so we read its public page text in a browser the same day; that row has no fingerprint. Dynamic pages can produce different code on another visit.

What this audit cannot prove

  • We chose these seven examples by hand, so they are not a random or representative sample. They cannot support a national average, provider score, or claim that the providers serve the same home.
  • These are provider-published terms, not billed amounts or measured sales outcomes.
  • A rate shown on September 21 can change. The CSV is a dated snapshot, not a current-offer feed or promise of eligibility.
  • A price lock may cover base internet service without freezing gateway, optional WiFi, taxes or other terms. Address-specific labels and checkout terms take precedence.
  • Where the sampled page does not state a term, another provider document or an address-qualified offer may state it.

Use this term worksheet before choosing a plan

  1. Which exact plan and service address does this price cover?
  2. What is the last month at the displayed price?
  3. What dollar rate applies immediately afterward, if known?
  4. Does AutoPay require checking, debit or paperless billing?
  5. Does the modem or gateway have its own price schedule?
  6. Is WiFi optional, included or separately billed?
  7. What installation route is free, and when can a fee apply?
  8. What do the label and final order summary say about taxes, fees and credits?

Once you have those answers, enter the verified numbers in the internet-cost calculator. Leave unresolved amounts blank so the tool can show an incomplete result. Read the cost guide for fee definitions, or use the availability and shopping path to check your address. Our research hub explains how this audit fits our broader method.

For a correction, send the source and the affected row through the contact link in the site footer. We review the specific term and its date instead of refreshing the page timestamp. Provider terms in this snapshot are due for a re-check by November 5, 2026. That re-check will be published as a new version of this Zenodo dataset, and the September 21 rows stay version 1.0. Our editorial methodology explains how we date sources, and the guide to a rising internet bill shows what happens when a clock runs out. For the prepaid row, see how prepaid internet works.

Sources and scope

Cite this dataset

Mendoza, P. (2026). The same monthly internet price can run on a different clock: a seven-offer audit of advertised price terms on US provider pages (observed 21 September 2026) (Version 1.0) [Dataset]. Zenodo. DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.23897933

Version 1.0, published . Observed . License: CC BY 4.0.

Open the Zenodo record, or download advertised-terms.csv, README-codebook.md, and technical-note.pdf.

A later re-check is a new version of this dataset. Later versions keep the concept DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.23897932.

↑↓ navigate · Enter open · Esc close

Start with your household need

Select a priority to see a connection type worth checking. This is not a plan recommendation or an address-level service check.

What matters most?

Start by checking Fiber

Fiber can offer stronger upload capacity where installed.

Advertising disclosure. We may earn a commission if you order through a partner link. How we earn money

These are providers to investigate, not confirmed matches. Verify service, monthly and post-promotion price, equipment, fees, and order terms at your exact address on the destination site.